LINE a social networking app operated by LINE Cooperation announced the release of the Hidden chat feature for the app on 31st July 2014. This new feature lets user send messages with time limit attached to them.
A separate room is created for the Hidden chat and it is impossible to view the contents of the message directly. Text, stickers, images, location info, and contact info can be sent, and viewing limits of 2 seconds, 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 1 minute, 1 hour, 1 day, or 1 week can be attached to the messages. The receiver of the message can view the message by tapping it and at the same time the timer gets started thus it ensures that the message gets deleted after the predetermined amount of time. The main reason for introduction of this feature is to ensure safety and increase convenience of the users.
This feature will be available with the update of the app for Android and iOS. The update will be available for iOS devices with version 5.0 or later and android devices with version 2.3 or later.